Move a Patient Payment

The Manage Account screen gives you options of moving a patient payment from one procedure charge to another procedure charge. This is helpful if you applied a patient payment to the wrong charge in error, or if the patient requests the payment be posted to another charge. 

The default memo line for new payment record(s) created as part of the move transaction will indicate that it was created as a result of a payment move and include the DOS & CPT that the original payment was previously applied to.

The “original” payment will be marked as Deleted. Payments can only be moved within the same patient account. In the event a credit needs to be transferred to another patient, please reference the Transfer Credit To Help Article for additional information.

Follow the steps below to move a patient payment to another charge..

  1. Select Patient > Manage Account.

  2. Use the Search field to search through your patients or insured.

     Place a check in the “Include inactive patients” box to include inactive patients in your search results.

  3. Select the Patient.

  4. Under Transaction Listing locate the DOS, then the procedure and click the expand arrow.

  5. Select the Payment.

  6. Click the Move Payment button.

    1. Apply the payment to one of the available charges using one of the two methods.

      1. Click the Apply Remaining link to automatically to the patients oldest outstanding charge.

      2. Locate a specific charge and enter the payment amount into the Apply Payment column. 

    2. Click Save Payment.

  7. Click Save.