Eliminate the time your staff spends on verifying patient eligibility with our Real-Time and Batch Patient Eligibility feature. With this feature, you can determine if a patient is eligible for insurance benefits in seconds, avoiding possible loss of payment. Eligibility is the first step to a clean claim.
If you're the Auth Rep, follow the steps below to enable, configure, or disable Real-Time Eligibility:
-
Select Account Administration > Services.
-
Click the button next to Real-Time Eligibility.
-
The Enable eligibility checking checkbox allows you to enable or disable this service.
-
Set your Eligibility Settings:
-
Automatically check eligibility when saving appointment?
-
Select Yes to have the system automatically verify a patient's eligibility when an appointment is saved.
-
-
Automatically check eligibility when an appt has been set to Status: Use the drop-down menu to determine the (appointment) status that triggers the automatic eligibility check.
-
Automatically check eligibility when an appointment or claim is created over an Interface?
-
Select Yes if you want an automatic eligibility check when creating an appointment or claim, from an SIU or DFT message received via the interface.
-
-
Automatically check eligibility when a patient is created or updated over an Interface?
-
Select Yes if you want an automatic eligibility check when creating a patient from an ADT message received via the interface.
-
-
Limit automatic eligibility checking to: Use the drop-down menu to select the frequency in which you would like automated eligibility to run (once a visit, once a month, once every 30 days, once every 90 days, once per year, once per patient).

Please note that the "Once per Year" option is based on the calendar year. This means a patient with an appointment or claim on December 31st and another on January 1st will trigger an eligibility check for both dates, since they fall in different calendar years.
-
Show user an alert if they lack permissions to check eligibility when saving an appointment that otherwise would have run eligibility automatically?
-
Select Yes to alert the user when they don't have the necessary permissions to check Patient Eligibility.
-
-
-
Optional: Select Copy Configuration to copy these settings to another customer account.
-
Check the box next to the customer account(s) to copy the settings to, then click Copy.
-
-
Click Save.
